Dixie Chicks (06/01/06)

The above is the cover art for the Dixie Chicks’s new album Taking the Long Way Home

The Chicks have recieved a lot of press coverage for harsh treatment by country raido in response to  Natalie Maines comment about George Bush at a performance  in London in 2003, 10 days before the Iraq invasion.

Just so you know, we’re ashamed the President of the United States is from Texas

Now,  they respond musically on the third cut on the album,

Not Ready to Make Nice

Forgive, sounds good
Forget, I’m not sure I could
They say time heals everything
But I’m still waiting

I’m through with doubt
There’s nothing left for me to figure out
I’ve paid a price
And I’ll keep paying

I’m not ready to make nice
I’m not ready to back down
I’m still mad as hell and
I don’t have time to go round and round and round
It’s too late to make it right
I probably wouldn’t if I could
‘Cause I’m mad as hell
Can’t bring myself to do what it is you think I should

I know you said
Can’t you just get over it
It turned my whole world around
And I kind of like it

Despite almost no airplay on country radio, yesterday, the  Chicks hit number one on Billboard Country,  as well as the Billboard Top 200, for sales for their new album just released May 24.

Here are the lyrics from the title cut.

Taking the Long Way Home

My friends from high school
Married their high school boyfriends
Moved into houses in the same ZIP codes
Where their parents live

But I, I could never follow
No I, I could never follow

I hit the highway in a pink RV with stars on the ceiling
Lived like a gypsy
Six strong hands on the steering wheel

I’ve been a long time gone now
Maybe someday, someday I’m gonna settle down
But I’ve always found my way somehow

By taking the long way
Taking the long way around
Taking the long way
Taking the long way around

I met the queen of whatever
Drank with the Irish and smoked with the hippies
Moved with the shakers
Wouldn’t kiss all the asses that they told me to

No I, I could never follow
No I, I could never follow

It’s been two long years now
Since the top of the world came crashing down
And I’m getting’ it back on the road now

But I’m taking the long way
Taking the long way around
I’m taking the long way
Taking the long way around
The long
The long way around

Well, I fought with a stranger and I met myself
I opened my mouth and I heard myself
It can get pretty lonely when you show yourself
Guess I could have made it easier on myself

But I, I could never follow
No I, I could never follow

Well, I never seem to do it like anybody else
Maybe someday, someday I’m gonna settle down
If you ever want to find me I can still be found

Taking the long way
Taking the long way around
Taking the long way
Taking the long way around

I think lyrics from boths songs are about more than the Bush incident, however.  They follow in the tradition of a lot of defiant women of country–Loretta Lynn and Dollie Parton, for instance.  Ironically, both of those icons and Willie Nelson, have been abandoned, as not being country enough.   

Time Magazine in its May 8, 2006 issue,  named the Chicks in the top 100 most influential folks.  And put them on the cover May 28, with Josh Tyrangiel’s “In the Line of Fire.”  One thing though, in reading the latter, the Chicks say they ask themselves what would Bruce Springsteen do and so have turned down an opportunity to appear on The View.  And yet they’ve been on Larry King.  Come on, Chicks.  I know Elizabeth Hasselhoff is nothing but a television personality.  But Barbara Walters?  Meridith Vieira?  Joy Bahar?  These are festy intelligent women in their own right.  

 

 

*

According to the little counter dealie, I’ve had 422 paper views May 29-31.  Who are you guys?  Since the comment feature won’t work here, unless you also have a 360 account, send me an email!

 

Other stats: 7163 page views January 1 – May 31 by 543 folks.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

